Insurance & Risk

Who Gets the Mail: Coverage That Lapses During a Management Change

CIC-SC Editorial Team··~15 minutes read

Insurance & Risk · Quorum Case Files Season 9 Companion · Agent of Record & Coverage Lapse

Who Gets the Mail: Coverage That Lapses During a Management Change

A 184-unit oceanfront condominium carried forty-six million dollars of federal flood insurance for years. In the summer of 2012 the program asked for roughly twenty thousand dollars more in premium and mailed the notice to the broker and to a management company the board had just replaced. Nobody forwarded it. When Sandy came ashore that October, the declarations page read sixteen million. This article is about the mechanism that turned a mailing address into a thirty-million-dollar coverage reduction, and about what a board records when the manager changes.

By the CIC-SC Editorial Team Published October 24, 2026 Reading time: ~15 minutes Audience: Boards, Treasurers, Managers

Educational notice. This information is educational in nature and should not be construed as legal or insurance advice. The dollar figures in this case are as reported by two trade and local outlets in September 2013, and the outlets disagree on the size of the loss; the only adjudicated record is a 2015 appellate decision that resolved a claim against one individual defendant and nothing else. Consult qualified association counsel and a licensed insurance professional regarding your association’s coverage and jurisdiction.

Companion episode. This article accompanies Quorum Case Files Season 9, Episode 3, “The Notice Nobody Forwarded,” in which Ian Knight and Chris walk the record of Lido Beach Towers. Listen to the season. The article carries the mechanism; the episode carries the story.

The Building, the Policy, and the Notice

Lido Beach Towers sits on the ocean side of Long Island in Nassau County, New York, next door to Long Beach. Habitat magazine, reporting on September 13, 2013, described it as a 1920s oceanfront landmark of 184 units. It carried flood insurance through the National Flood Insurance Program on the Residential Condominium Building Association Policy, the RCBAP, which is the form a condominium association in a flood zone buys from the federal program through an agent. According to Habitat, the building coverage was forty-six million dollars.

In 2011, Hurricane Irene produced a claim. A claim produces an adjuster. Habitat reported that the FEMA adjuster who walked the lower level of the building reclassified its below-grade passageways as a basement. In the flood program, how the lowest level of a building is classified feeds the rate. In the summer of 2012, per Habitat, FEMA asked the association for a little over twenty thousand dollars of additional premium to keep the forty-six million in force. Spread across 184 units, that is roughly a hundred dollars a door.

The notice went, according to Habitat, to two parties: the association’s insurance broker and its managing agent. That is where a carrier would ordinarily send it. The complication is that Lido Beach Towers had just changed management companies, and the managing agent on file with the program was the one that had been replaced. Habitat reported that nobody forwarded either copy to the board. The additional premium was not paid. The program did not cancel the policy. It reduced the coverage to what the premium already paid would buy under the new rating: sixteen million dollars, a reduction of thirty million, which per Habitat took effect weeks before Sandy.

Sandy came ashore in October 2012. The ocean came through the lower floors, the mechanical spaces, and the passageways the adjuster had called a basement. Habitat reported that residents were out of the building for eight months and that roughly thirty-five units still could not be occupied a year after the storm. When the FEMA adjuster met with the board after the storm and stated the coverage, the board heard sixteen million and, per Habitat, assumed the “1” was a typographical error for a “4.” It was not. The board then located the unpaid premium and sent a check. Habitat reported that FEMA returned it.

The outlets that covered the loss do not agree on its size. Habitat put FEMA’s assessment of the loss at roughly thirty-two million dollars and the payment at about eight million; its headline said the missed payment could cost twenty-four million. The Long Island Herald, reporting one week later on September 20, 2013, put the damage at sixteen to seventeen million and the payout at eight million. The eight million is the same in both accounts. The size of the loss is not, and this article does not resolve the difference. What both accounts agree on is that a building carrying sixteen million dollars of coverage, on a loss materially larger than eight million, was paid eight million.

The Mechanism: Where the Mail Goes

Three general insurance concepts explain how a policy that was in force, paid for, and correctly sized could lose two thirds of its limit without a board decision. They are described here as general vocabulary, not as the text of Lido Beach Towers’ policy.

The agent of record

In ordinary usage, the agent or broker of record is the licensed intermediary a carrier or program recognizes as acting on the insured’s behalf. The carrier’s notices about premium, rating changes, renewals, and cancellations go to the addresses the carrier holds, which for a community association commonly include the agent and the managing agent, and may or may not include a board officer directly. The carrier is not a party to the association’s management contract. It does not know the contract ended unless someone tells it, and until someone does, its records say the old managing agent still acts for the building.

That is the structural fact of this case. The board knew it had changed managers. The reporting does not show that the flood program was told. The program had an address on file for the building, and that address, per Habitat, belonged to a company that no longer worked for it. Nothing in the record describes what happened inside that office, and this article does not speculate. The record says the notice went there and did not come out.

Rating changes and the premium notice

A premium notice is not only a bill. In this case it carried a rating change: the reclassification of the lowest level, which changed what forty-six million dollars of coverage cost. When the additional premium was not paid, the program did not treat the policy as cancelled. It treated the premium already paid as buying a smaller limit under the new rate. The coverage did not lapse in the sense of disappearing. It shrank, by mail, and the declarations page that governed on the day of the loss was the one nobody had read.

Coverage on the day of the loss

The board’s instinct after the storm, to find the unpaid premium and pay it, is the instinct of a careful board. It does not work in insurance. Coverage is measured on the day of the loss. In a separate Sandy case, a federal court in New Jersey observed that no provision of the program allows coverage to be purchased for a flood that has already occurred (Residences at Bay Point Condominium Association v. Standard Fire Insurance Co., 41 F. Supp. 3d 427 (D.N.J. 2014)). Habitat’s account of FEMA returning the late check is the same principle in practice.

The Declarations Page

Every episode of Season 9 stops once, after the loss and before the reckoning, to read the declarations page in three parts: what the board thought it had bought, what the policy actually provided, and what the distance cost. For Lido Beach Towers, part two has two layers, because the policy that governed on the day of the storm carried both a smaller limit and a clause the board was not reading.

PartLido Beach Towers, on the reported record
What the board thought it had boughtForty-six million dollars of RCBAP building coverage, in force, on a building rated as it had been for years (Habitat, Sept. 13, 2013).
What the policy actually providedOn the day of the storm, sixteen million dollars (Habitat). And, as on every RCBAP, Article VII: a coinsurance clause that pays building losses in proportion to insurance carried against insurance required.
What the distance cost, and who paidOn the reported figures, between eight and twenty-four million dollars of uninsured loss, depending on which outlet’s loss figure is used. Paid by 184 households through cash calls, which Habitat was still writing about at the end of 2014, and in eight months out of their homes.

The coinsurance clause, read raw

Article VII of the RCBAP is published by FEMA in form F-144 and codified at 44 CFR Part 61, Appendix A(3). Three parts matter here. Article VII.A provides that the clause applies “only to coverage on the building,” not to contents. Article VII.B provides that the penalty applies unless the amount of insurance applicable to the damaged building is “1. At least 80 percent of its replacement cost; or 2. The maximum amount of insurance available for that building under the NFIP, whichever is less.” Article VII.C gives the formula: the amount carried, divided by the amount required, multiplied by the loss, less the deductible.

The form supplies its own worked example so that no insured can say it was not shown. A building with a replacement cost of $250,000 requires $200,000 of coverage to clear the 80 percent line. The owner carries $180,000. A $150,000 loss occurs. The ratio of $180,000 to $200,000 is 0.9; 0.9 multiplied by $150,000 is $135,000; after the deductible, the form’s example pays $134,500. Twenty thousand dollars under the line costs ten percent of the claim. Every dollar an insured is short of the required amount costs it a share of every building claim, not only the catastrophic one.

For Lido Beach Towers, the arithmetic cannot be completed from the public record. The building carried sixteen million. Its replacement cost and the program maximum for the building are not in the record, and there are two loss figures. Sixteen over forty-six is about 35 percent; 35 percent of Habitat’s thirty-two million is about eleven million, and 35 percent of the Herald’s seventeen million is about six million. Neither produces the eight million both outlets report. The reported figures do not close, and this article does not force them. The direction is not in doubt: whatever the required amount was for a 184-unit oceanfront building, sixteen million was a fraction of it, and the clause took that fraction out of the claim.

One further observation belongs to the mechanism rather than to the case. Forty-six million dollars divided by 184 units is $250,000 per unit exactly, a round figure for a limit someone selected. Article VII.B.2 removes the coinsurance penalty where the insured carries the maximum the program makes available for the building. Whether forty-six million was that maximum for this building is not in the record reviewed for this article.

The Record

The association sued its insurance broker and both management companies. The case is Lido Beach Towers v. Denis A. Miller Insurance Agency, Inc., Supreme Court, Nassau County, before Justice Driscoll at the trial level. The theory, in the words the Appellate Division used to describe it, was that the defendants “failed to procure and maintain sufficient flood coverage insurance limits.” The word that carries the case is maintain. No one in the record contends that forty-six million dollars was the wrong policy to buy. The allegation is that it was not kept in force. It is the association’s allegation, as the court described it, and no court has found it true.

The trial court granted summary judgment to Denis Miller individually, as distinct from the Denis A. Miller Insurance Agency, the business. The association appealed. On May 27, 2015, the Appellate Division, Second Department, affirmed (128 AD3d 1025, 2015 NY Slip Op 04455). The claim against Mr. Miller personally did not survive; there was nothing for a jury to try on it. The appellate court also dismissed an appeal filed by Kaled, a management company named in the caption, on the ground that Kaled was not aggrieved by the order, meaning the order did not go against it and it had nothing to appeal from.

That is where the record ends. The 2015 opinion does not resolve the claims against the agency, against Kaled, or against the second management company. The record reviewed for this article contains no judgment, settlement, dismissal, or trial for the remaining defendants after May 27, 2015, and this article does not guess at one. Nor does the record identify which management company was outgoing and which was incoming in the summer of 2012, so no role is assigned to either here. That gap is itself the lesson: if the public record cannot say who the agent of record was that summer, the flood program could not either.

What a Board Does With This

Lido Beach Towers is the hardest version of the Season 9 line. The storm is the act of God; the limit was an act of the board. This board did not act. The limit changed without a vote, a motion, or a decision anyone remembers making. A board that does nothing still owns the result, and the governance practice that follows is about owning the small administrative facts that insurance runs on, because those facts do not announce the day they go stale.

CICSC Standard FIN-006, Master Policy Insurance Adequacy Review, frames insurance adequacy as a recurring, calendared obligation of the board rather than a decision made once. Section 2.2 of the standard lists “a change in management company, agent, or broker” as a trigger for a review, alongside renewal, capital projects, and losses. The practice that follows from that trigger, applied to this mechanism, has four parts.

1. The address inventory belongs to the board, not the outgoing manager

Every carrier, agency, program, lender, utility, taxing authority, and vendor that holds the association’s mailing address is a party that will keep sending mail to that address after the management contract ends. Boards that treat a management change as a governance event typically build the inventory before the outgoing manager’s last day, from the insurance file, the vendor list, and the bank records, and keep it as an association record rather than a manager’s working document. The outgoing manager has no contract, no fee, and no particular obligation to open or forward mail for a client it has lost, and nothing in this case suggests otherwise. The board that knows where its mail goes is the board that can redirect it.

2. The change of managing agent is confirmed in writing, with each carrier and program, before the transition

A carrier learns the manager has changed when someone tells it. For each policy, boards typically ask the agent of record in writing to confirm that the carrier or program has the new managing agent’s address, and to confirm what the carrier will send and to whom. FIN-006 § 3.1 provides the written questions a board puts to its insurance professional at each review; a management transition adds a specific one: who, as of today, receives premium, rating, renewal, and cancellation notices for each policy, and has that been confirmed with the carrier? The answer goes in the minutes.

3. A board officer is a recipient, not only a forwardee

Lido Beach Towers’ notice reached two professionals and no director. Whether the policy or the carrier permits a board officer to be listed as an additional notice recipient is a question for the insurance professional, and the answer differs by carrier and program. The governance point is narrower: a board that depends entirely on intermediaries to learn that its coverage is changing has no independent view of its own declarations page. Many boards ask that question of their professional at each renewal and record the answer, whatever it is.

4. The declarations page is read at renewal and after any rating event

The reclassification of the lower level was a rating event with a coverage consequence. FIN-006 § 2.2 also lists “any loss, claim, or near-miss” as a review trigger, and the Irene claim was one. A board that asks its professional in writing after a claim whether anything about the rating, classification, or premium has changed, and reads the declarations page that comes back, is positioned to see a thirty-million-dollar reduction before the adjuster reports it. The review and its answers are recorded (FIN-006 § 4.1). A coverage that fell because a notice was not forwarded and a coverage that fell because the board decided to reduce it look identical on the policy and entirely different in the minutes.

Two existing CICSC resources bear on the same failure. The institutional-knowledge article treats the facts that live in one person’s head or one vendor’s files as a single point of failure; the mailing address a carrier holds is one of those facts. The policy suite that survives an election describes the written practices a board adopts so that continuity does not depend on who is in the chairs or who holds the contract. A management transition checklist that includes the insurance address inventory is one of those policies.

Board takeaway. A carrier knows the association through the addresses on its file, and it does not learn that the manager has changed until someone tells it. When the management contract changes hands, the board, not the outgoing manager, owns the list of every carrier, agency, and program that holds the association’s address, and the board confirms the change of agent in writing with each of them before the old manager’s last day. Nobody forwards your mail for free after you let them go. Know where it goes.

When to Consult Counsel and the Insurance Professional

Boards typically bring the following to counsel and to their licensed insurance professional rather than resolving them at the table:

  • Who the carrier or program currently recognizes as the association’s agent of record and managing agent for each policy, and how a change is formally made;
  • Whether a board officer can be designated as an additional recipient of premium, rating, and cancellation notices, and on what terms;
  • What the association’s flood policy provides on coinsurance, the replacement-cost basis the required amount rests on, when that basis was last established, and whether the limit carried is the program maximum for the building;
  • What a rating reclassification of the lowest level means for the association’s premium and coverage, and how such a change is communicated;
  • What duties the governing documents and applicable law place on the association regarding property and flood insurance, and what the management contract provides about notices during a transition;
  • Whether a coverage reduction or lapse the board has discovered gives rise to any claim, and against whom, before any statement is made to members about fault.

The Season 9 Companion Series

  1. The Liability Limit Is Sized to the Loss the Board Can Imagine — the liability limit vs. the loss
  2. Eighty Percent of What? The Flood Coinsurance Clause and the Warning in the Board’s Own File — the warning the board shelved
  3. Who Gets the Mail: Coverage That Lapses During a Management Change — the notice nobody forwarded (this article)
  4. Per Occurrence or Aggregate: Reading the Declarations Page Instead of Asking the Broker — the limit the board misread
  5. A Paid Claim Is Not a Funded Rebuild — the proceeds and the vote
  6. The Appraisal Clause, Both Ways — the appraisal clause, both ways
  7. Same Street, Two Policies: The Renewal Decision Is the Only One That Survives the Fire — two boards, one street, two renewals
  8. The Twenty Percent Building — the building the market would not insure

Tags: flood insurance · NFIP · RCBAP · coinsurance clause · agent of record · managing agent · management transition · premium notice · coverage lapse · declarations page · Hurricane Sandy · Lido Beach Towers · FIN-006 · Quorum Case Files

Disclaimer. This article is published by the Common Interest Community Standards Council for educational and informational purposes only. It is not legal, insurance, or financial advice and does not establish an attorney-client relationship. The account of Lido Beach Towers’ coverage, premium notice, loss, and payment is drawn from reporting by Habitat magazine (September 13, 2013) and the Long Island Herald (September 20, 2013), which disagree on the size of the loss; those figures are reported, not adjudicated. The description of Lido Beach Towers v. Denis A. Miller Insurance Agency, Inc., 128 AD3d 1025, 2015 NY Slip Op 04455 (2d Dep’t May 27, 2015), is drawn from the published opinion, which affirmed summary judgment for one individual defendant and dismissed one appeal as not aggrieved; the association’s claim that the defendants failed to procure and maintain sufficient flood coverage limits was an allegation, and the opinion does not resolve the claims against the remaining defendants. The record reviewed for this article ends with that decision. The text of RCBAP Article VII is drawn from FEMA form F-144 (2021) and 44 CFR Part 61, Appendix A(3). The observation that program coverage cannot be purchased after a flood has occurred is drawn from Residences at Bay Point Condominium Association v. Standard Fire Insurance Co., 41 F. Supp. 3d 427 (D.N.J. 2014). No characterization of any carrier, broker, agency, management company, board, or individual is intended beyond what the cited record states. Questions about a specific association’s coverage, claim, or exposure are questions for association counsel and a licensed insurance professional. CIC-SC, its authors, and its members assume no liability for actions taken in reliance on this content.

Published by the Common Interest Community Standards Council (CICSC). Companion to Quorum Case Files Season 9, Episode 3, and to CICSC Standard FIN-006, Master Policy Insurance Adequacy Review. Part of the CICSC Member Education Library. © 2026 CICSC. Educational use permitted with attribution.

Notice: CICSC provides educational resources, governance standards, and practical advisory support. CICSC does not provide legal advice, accounting advice, tax advice, engineering advice, insurance advice, or reserve study services. Board members and associations should consult qualified professionals for matters requiring professional judgment or legal interpretation.